Library Services

CLTCC Library Services

Goal 1: The Social Aspect of Information

Information Literacy Modules

These are the desired Information Literacy outcomes for the CLTCC Learning Resource Center instructional program. The instructional program is evolving, so this list may also be expected to change in years to come. This document was created in Fall 2014.  Last update: 11/5/2014

14
 

Goal 1:  The Social Aspect of Information

A.  Understand the role, power, and value of information in society.

  1. Explain the different uses of information (occupational, intellectual, recreational, etc.)
  2. Describe how scholars use information and keep informed
  3. Describe how practicing professionals use information and keep informed
  4. Describe the uses of information along with the possibilities and consequences of misuse
  • Second Year Students: A 1-4 and: Explain the difference between information and knowledge

B.  Explain the public policy issues related to the access and use of information.

  1. 1. Demonstrate knowledge of the ethics relating to the access and use of information by defining plagiarism and by explaining how and when to give credit for information and ideas from others by appropriately citing sources
  2. Demonstrate knowledge of the concept of Intellectual Property (including copyright)

  3. Explain the legal, ethical, and political issues surrounding information technology, such as privacy, access to government information, information overload, equal access to information, and the responsibility to properly credit sources.

  4. Explain concepts and issues related to censorship, intellectual freedom, intellectual Property (including copyright) and respect for different points of view.

  • Second year students should be able to: 1 & 2; Explain the legal, ethical, and political issues surrounding information technology such as privacy, access to government information, information overload, equal access to information, and the responsibility to properly credit sources; Explain concepts and issues related to censorship, intellectual freedom, Intellectual Property (including copyright) and respect for different points of view.

 

Goal 2: The Organization of Information

Goal 2:  The Organization of Information

C.  Explain different information environments

  1. Describe different information environments
  2. Describe the processes by which scholarly and popular information is produced, organized and disseminated.
  3. Describe and distinguish between scholarly, trade and popular publications.
  4. Describe and distinguish between primary and seconday sources
  5. Describe the commodity nature of information:  who generates, controls, disseminates, and uses it
  6. Explain the concept of discourse community and that discourse communities independently develop specialized vocabularies.
  7. Identify the stages of the scholarly publication cycle
  8. Demonstrate familiarity with unique and shared concepts of research strategies
  • Second year students should be able to complete 1 - 4 and 5 - 8.

D.  Explain how information is organized in a library

  1. Explain the major classification systems libraries use to organize and classify materials
  2. Explain the use and identify parts of library catalog records
  3. Identify appropriate reference sources (encyclopedias, directories, indexes, abstracts, etc) and explain their utility
  4. Define types of databases and their organization (files, records, fulltext, e-books, reference books)
  5. Define and distinguish between key words, subject headings and descriptors
  6. Describe the difference between controlled vocabulary and free text searching
  7. Explain how the Internet differs from systems used to organize information
  8. Explain the use of citation indexes, the ways in which they differ from other indexes, and the fields in which they are the most relevant
  • Second year students should be able to complete 1 - 6 and 7 - 8.

E.  Recognize the availabilty of assistance in locating resources

  1. Identify physical and virtual service points in the CLTCC Library
  2. Find CLTCC Library's locally produced research tools
  • Second year students should be able to complete 1 & 2.

Goal 3: The Research Process

Goal 3:  The Research Process

F.  Identify and articulate information needs

  1. Identify a specific information need
  2. Articulate the information need as a researchable question
  3. Determine information requirements, often through a series of sub questions (critical thinking)
  • Second year students:  1 - 3

G.  Identify a variety of information sources

  1. Use reference tools to extract key words or controlled vocabulary, such as subject headings, descriptors appropriate to the research topic
  2. Identify and use appropriate search language which describes broader, narrower and related terms (critical thinking)
  3. Explain how people and organizations can be used as information sources
  4. Explain how search terms may vary with time and context, for example, culture and discipline
  • Second year students should be able to explain 1 - 2; 3 - 4.

H.  Develop effective search strategies

  1. Describe a variety of search techniques such as using natural language queries (google), indexes, advanced search (boolean), meta-search engines, etc.
  2. Select categories of information resources appropriate to a specific information need
  3. Outline a simple search strategy for a specific information need
  4. Identify the criteria for evaluating possible sources (timeliness, format, importance of using more than one kind, etc.)
  5. Demonstrate a variety of search techniques
  6. Construct a logical plan for advanced library research in a particular discipline.
  • Second year students should be able to: 1 - 4; 5 - 6.

 

 

Goal 4: The Research Process (continued)

Strategic Plan

CLTCC Strategic Plan

Central Louisiana Technical & Community College shares LCTCS committment to the principle of providing each student access to quality educational and life-long learning programs.

ensuring quali
ty and accountability.
  • Student Success through Quality Instructional Delivery and Student Engagement (Goal 2)
    • Increase opportunities for student access and success
  • Develop Institutional Facilities and Technology to improve organizational infrastructure, safety and aeshetics (Goal 6)
    • Increase opportunities for student access and success
  • Effective acquisition and management of assets & resources
    • Ensure quality of instructional programs and accountability of instructional assets