Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Systems (HVAC)

The Air Conditioning and Refrigeration program prepares individuals to install, diagnose, repair, and maintain the operating condition of domestic, residential, and commercial heating air conditioning, and refrigeration systems.

Degrees Available

Degrees available:

  • Technical Diploma (TD)
  • Certificate of Technical Studies (CTS)
  • Technical Competency Area (TCA)

Campus Locations

Campus Locations

  • Alexandria Campus

  • Leesville | Lamar Salter Campus

  • Ferriday | Shelby M Jackson Campus

CLTCC Welding Curriculum

CLTCC  Air Conditioning | Refrigeration Curriculum

 

The following program course listings and exit points are non-sequential and delivered depending on industry need and student selection.

Courses are required to be taken only once if successfully completed to satisfy exit credentials. The student advisor will assist in proper course sequencing to obtain exit credentials.

Additional industry specific courses can be developed as needed.

Welding Courses

AC & Refrigeration Course Names & Descriptions

 

CPTR 1000 INTRODUCTION TO COMPUTERS

An introductory study of computer system components, operating system environments.  Internet concepts, and security issues. Includes a hands-on study emphasizing computer hardware and various operating systems features.

HACR 1150 HAVC INTRODUCTION

Produces information needed to prepare individuals to enter the Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Industry.  Includes basic safety and health, inventory control, stock management, vehicle maintenance, licensure, certification requirements, and basic business management practices. 

HACR 1160 PRINCIPLES OF REFRIGERATION

Presents the proper and safe use of hand tools including power tools and materials in the HVAC Industry.  This course also provides for a review of HVAC and refrigeration processes and applications.

HACR 1170 PRINCIPLES OF REFRIGERATION II

Provides the student with the skills and knowledge to install, repair, and service major components of a refrigeration system. Topics include: compressors; evaporators; condensers; metering devices; service procedures; refrigeration systems; and safety.

HACR 1210 ELECTRICAL FUNDAMENTALS

Introduction to fundamental electrical concepts and theories as applied to the air conditioning industry. Topics include: AC and DC theory; ohms law; electric meters; electric diagrams; distribution systems; electrical panels; voltage circuits; code requirements; and safety.

HACR 1220 ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS

Provides instruction in identifying, installing and testing commonly used components in an air conditioning system. Topics include: pressure switches; overload devices; transformers; magnetic starters; other commonly used controls; diagnostic techniques; installation procedures; and safety.

HACR 1230 ELECTRIC MOTORS

Continues the development of skills and knowledge necessary for application and service of electric motors commonly used by the refrigeration and air conditioning industry. Topics include: diagnostic techniques; capacitors; installation procedures; types of electric motors; electric motor service; and safety.

HACR 1240 APPLIED ELECTRICITY AND TROUBLESHOOTING

Provides instruction on wiring various types of air conditioning systems. Topics include: servicing procedures; troubleshooting procedures; solid state controls; system wiring; control circuits; and safety.

HACR 1410 DOMESTIC REFRGIGERATION

Presents the proper procedures to diagnose and repair domestic refrigerators and freezers. 

HACR 1420 ROOM AIR CONDITIONERS

The operation, diagnosis and science of room air conditioning.  Emphasis is devoted to diagnosis and repair.

HACR 2510 RESIDENTIALCENTRAL AIR CONDITIONING I 

The study and theory of the major components and functions of central air conditioning systems.  Includes the study of Air Conditioning systems types and the proper and safe use of instruments and safety. 

HACR 2520 RESIDENTIALCENTRAL AIR CONDITIONING II

The operation, diagnosis and service of  central air conditioning systems and the care of associated instruments.  Topics include the various types of A/C systems, and safety principles.

HACR 2530 RESIDENTIAL SYSTEM DESIGN

Theory and practice of different types of residential air conditioning systems heat loads.  Topics include calculations, duct design, air filtration, and safety practices. 

HACR 2540 RESIDENTIAL HEATING I

Theory and study of the principles and practices for the operation, diagnosis and service of residential and small commercial heating systems.  Topics covered will include electrical controls,  gas valves, piping, venting, code requirements, principles of combustion and safety for gas and electrical heating.

HACR 2550 RESIDENTIAL HEATING II

The application of service procedures, controls (electrical & gas), gas valves, piping, ventilation, code requirements and safety for gas and electrical heating systems for residential and small commercial uses.

HACR 2560 RESIDENTIAL HEAT PUMPS

Theory and study of heat pumps and related systems.  Provides for the fundamentals of heat pump operation and diagnosis.  Installation procedures, diagnosis, servicing procedures, valves, electrical components and geothermal ground source applications, dual fuel systems, and safety are topics included. 

JOBS 2450 JOB SEEKING SKILLS

This course is required of all Technical Diploma and Associate Degree students and should be taken during their last semester of enrollment prior to completion of diploma/degree requirements.  This course assists students in making immediate and future decisions concerning job choices and educational growth by compiling résumés, evaluating job offers, and outlining information essential to finding, applying for, and terminating a job.  It also includes personal/career assessments including foundational Work Keys assessments, application for the Louisiana Work Ready! (National Career Ready) Certificate.  The completion of a student career presentation portfolio to minimum specifications will be a requirement for course completion.

ORNT 1000 FRESHMAN SEMINAR

This course is designed to introduce newly enrolled students to college life and career development through a variety of activities.  It is recommended that this course be scheduled during the first semester of enrollment.  An overview of college policies, procedures, and resources as well as study skills and time management strategies will introduce the student to the college experience.  Also included is an introduction to electronic learning and the use of online resources.