Nursing and Allied Health

Resources for Nursing, Allied Health, Pharmacology & CNA

Nursing Courses

CLTCC  Nursing Curriculum

The following program course listings and exit points are sequential and delivered depending on industry need and student selection. Courses are required to be taken only once if successfully completed to satisfy exit credentials. The student advisor will assist in proper course sequencing to obtain exit credentials.

see Practical Nursing (51.3901)

Required Related Courses:

ORNT 1000 FRESHMAN SEMINAR

This course is designed to introduce newly enrolled students to college life and career development through a variety of activities.  It is recommended that this course be scheduled during the first semester of enrollment.  An overview of college policies, procedures, and resources as well as study skills and time management strategies will introduce the student to the college experience.  Also included is an introduction to electronic learning and the use of online resources. 

CPTR 1000 INTRODUCTION TO COMPUTERS 

An introductory study of computer system components, operating system environments.  Internet concepts, and security issues. Includes a hands-on study emphasizing computer hardware and various operating systems features.

Nursing Course Names & Descriptions

HNUR 1211 NURSING FUNDAMENTALS I

Theory (45hrs) and supervised skills lab (30hrs) experiences that focus on providing basic nursing skills to meet the physiological, psychosocial, socio-cultural, and spiritual needs of clients in various health care environments.  Infection control information and skills are presented as part of this course. Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) guidelines are presented as application of the nursing process in the management of clients with health alterations.

HNUR 1212 GERIATRIC CLINICAL I

The student will perform, demonstrate, and practice a minimum of 80 hours of basic nursing assistant care in approved facilities, to include a minimum of 40 hours of long term care, under the supervision of the LTC faculty. The application of the nursing process will be used in meeting biological, psychosocial, cultural, and spiritual needs of geriatric clients in selected environments.   Major components included are rehabilitative care and support of death with dignity utilizing therapeutic and preventive measures.

HNUR 1302 ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY FOR NURSING ALLIED HEALTH

This course is a study of structure and function of the human body systems to include cells, skeletal, muscular, circulatory/lymphatic, digestive, respiratory, urinary, reproductive, endocrine, nervous, sensory and integumentary systems.  Medical terms and commonly used medical/nursing abbreviations related to each body system are addressed in detail in this course.

This course covers identification of the organs and basic functions of the human body and disorders as it relates to each system with medical terminology integrated with each.

HNUR 1312 BASIC NUTRITION

Normal nutrition and the modification of the principles of normal nutrition for therapeutic purposes are studied. This course includes the role of the essential nutrients of proteins, carbohydrates, fats, vitamins, minerals and water in the maintenance of good health and wellness for all ages.

HNUR 1310 INTRODUCTION TO PRACTICAL NURSING

This course includes information regarding vocational adjustments and personal, family, and community health issues. It expounds on the role of the practical nurse, practical nursing education and the Law Relating to the Practice of Practical Nursing as defined by the Louisiana State Board of Practical Nurse Examiners (LSBPNE), including the Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 37, Chapter 11, Subpart II - Practical Nurses and LAC 46:XLVII.Nursing, subpart 1- Practical Nurses.  Ethical/legal/cultural issues and trends, communication techniques, and personality development are addressed. It includes discussion of the concepts of health maintenance with identification of local, state and national health resources available for maintenance of health. Also included is an introduction to the normal aging process, including biological, psychosocial, cultural, spiritual, and pharmacological factors, including health maintenance throughout the life cycle.  Additional topics covered in this course will include rehabilitative/restorative care and support of end-of-life issues utilizing therapeutic and preventive measures.

HNUR 1311 ADVANCED NURSING FUNDAMENTALS

This course includes 30 hrs of theory and 60hrs of supervised skills lab experiences that focus on providing practical nursing skills to meet the physiological, psychosocial, socio-cultural, and spiritual needs of clients in various healthcare environments.  Advanced skills are presented through the application of the nursing process to assist in the management of all aged clients with health alterations.

HNUR1322 BASIC PHARMACOLOGY FOR PN

The terminology and principles of medication administration are presented in this course. It includes medication assessment, procedures for administration of oral, parenteral, topical, irrigation and instillation routes/methods, along with basic dosage calculations of medications/intravenous fluid rates. Safety precautions, guidelines and documentation are emphasized.

HNUR 1460 ADVANCED PHARMACOLOGY            

Drug classifications and their effect on the various body systems are presented.  Specific drugs in each classification are emphasized according to expected effects, side effects, and adverse effects.  Routes of drug administration and variables that influence drug action are covered including dangerous drug interactions and nursing implications related to each drug.  Safety precautions which will help to decrease the incidence of errors in medication administration are stressed.  Advanced medication calculations will be required to demonstrate knowledge of safe dosing parameters.  The nursing process is utilized to assess the client's learning needs and effects of all pharmacological interventions.

HNUR 2113 MEDICAL/SURGICAL I    

This course is a study of the nursing process as a method of individualizing patient care with special emphasis directed towards  essential concepts related to body fluid/water, electrolytes, and acid-base balance, care of the perioperative adult client and the adult client experiencing alterations in cardiovascular/lymphatic/immune functioning. Included is a review of anatomy & physiology, and therapeutic/modified diets for each body system addressed. Pharmacological interventions/commonly used medications for each body system addressed are discussed at length. Geriatric considerations are addressed.

Students will begin to utilize a nursing process approach, and will perform applicable practical nursing clinical skills to assigned client(s) in approved health care facilities under the supervision and discretion of practical nursing faculty. This course includes a 180-hour clinical component.

HNUR 2123   MEDICAL/SURGICAL II 

This course includes theory related to nursing care provided to adult clients experiencing alterations in the respiratory, gastrointestinal, endocrine and integumentary function. Care of the adult client with a neoplastic disorder is also included. Included is a review of anatomy and physiology, and therapeutic/modified diets for each body system addressed. Pharmacological interventions/commonly used medications for each body system addressed are discussed at length. Geriatric considerations are addressed.

Utilizing a nursing process approach, the student will perform applicable practical nursing clinical skills to multiple clients in approved health care facilities under the supervision and discretion of practical nursing faculty. Critical thinking skills are encouraged while the student learns to make interdependent practical nursing decisions. This course includes a 180-hour clinical component.

HNUR 2133 MEDICAL/SURGICAL III 

This course includes the study of genitourinary, reproductive, sensory, neurological and musculoskeletal disorders with emphasis on pathophysiology and pharmacology for the adult client. Included is a review of anatomy and physiology, and therapeutic/modified diets. Pharmacological interventions/commonly used medications for each body system addressed are discussed at length.  Geriatric considerations are addressed.

Utilizing a nursing process approach, the student will perform applicable practical nursing clinical skills to multiple clients experiencing serious illnesses in approved health care facilities under the supervision and discretion of practical nursing faculty. Critical thinking skills are utilized while the student begins to make interdependent practical nursing decisions. Students will be expected to perform clinical skills with in-direct supervision of the clinical instructor. This course includes a 180-hour clinical component.

HNUR 2143   MENTAL ILLNESS NURSING         

This is the study of the client experiencing emotional, mental and social alterations utilizing the nursing process approach with integrated pharmacology and application of life span principles. Geriatric considerations are addressed.

Utilizing a nursing process approach, the student will perform applicable practical nursing clinical skills to clients in mental health facilities under the supervision and at the discretion of practical nursing faculty. This course includes a 30-hour clinical component.

HNUR 2153 MATERNAL CHILD NURSING

Current issues, growth and development of the childbearing family, fetal development and gestation are studied.  Care of the client during the antepartal, intrapartal, and postpartal periods is included, as well as care of the neonate. Included is a review of anatomy and physiology, and therapeutic/modified diets. Pharmacological interventions/commonly used medications for each body system and condition are discussed at length.

Utilizing a nursing process approach, the student will perform applicable practical nursing clinical skills to maternal & neonatal clients during the antepartal, intrapartal, and postpartal periods, in appropriate clinical sites, under the supervision and at the discretion of practical nursing faculty. This course includes a 30-hour clinical component.

HNUR 2163   PEDIATRIC NURSING

This course presents essential information related to growth and development of infants, toddlers, preschool through school age and adolescents, and those diseases common but not exclusive to the particular age groups. Included is a review of anatomy and physiology, and therapeutic/modified diets. Pharmacological interventions/commonly used medications for each body system and age group are discussed at length.

Utilizing a nursing process approach, the student will perform applicable practical nursing clinical skills to pediatric clients in appropriate clinical sites under the supervision and at the discretion of practical nursing faculty. This course includes a 30-hour clinical component.

HNUR 2173 PN PROFESSIONALISM, LEADERSHIP & MANAGEMENT

This course presents the laws, rules and regulations which govern licensure to practice practical nursing in the state of Louisiana, including a review of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 37, Chapter 11, Subpart II - Practical Nurses and LAC 46:XLVII.Nursing, subpart 1- Practical Nurses. Students are prepared for the NCLEX-PN licensure examination. It is designed to prepare the future LPN for compliance with the laws, to explain the procedures which facilitate necessary operations of the Louisiana State Board of Practical Nurse Examiners (LSBPNE) and to outline the obligations which accompany the privilege of service in health care. Legal responsibilities, confidentiality and ethical practice along with concepts of management and supervision are emphasized. Preparation for employment is introduced by evaluating job opportunities, compiling a resume, and outlining information essential to finding, applying for and terminating a job in the healthcare industry.

A study of common health problems and etiologies seen in nursing home residents, including safe administration of medications, selected acute illnesses, and typical health emergencies. In addition, a review of documentation requirements, health protection guidelines, and health promotion activities in long-term facilities are presented. Appropriate teaching of related diagnostic results in the elderly are summarized. The leadership/management role in the nursing home setting is outlined including the delegation of tasks to support staff. The course focuses on issues such as the relationship of management and quality improvement for care of the elderly in long-term facilities. In addition, the organization and structure of the nursing home and the function of various departments are included. The Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals and the survey process is integrated throughout the course. Common legal and ethical issues encountered in long-term care facilities are discussed.

Utilizing a nursing process approach, the student will perform applicable practical nursing clinical skills to clients in geriatric care facilities under the supervision and at the discretion of practical nursing faculty.  Critical thinking skills are encouraged while the student makes interdependent practical nursing decisions.

Students will perform in management and leadership roles in the facility and will administer medications to groups of residents comparable to industry's entry-level expectations of a beginning practitioner. This course includes a 30-hr clinical component.

HNUR 2183 IV THERAPY FOR PRACTICAL NURSING

The role of the practical nurse, legal implications of intravenous (IV) therapy, and equipment/devices used, anatomy/physiology, methods and techniques, infection control measures, complications, and other vital information related to intravenous therapy is discussed. Supervised lab performance (15hrs) is an integral part of this course.

Degrees Available

Degrees available:

  • Technical Diploma (TD)
  • Certificate of Technical Studies (CTS)

Campus Locations

Campus Locations

CAMPUS LOCATIONS

  • Alexandria Campus
  • Avoyelles | Ward H Nash Campus
  • Ferriday | Shelby M Jackson Campus
  • Jena | Rod Brady Campus
  • Leesville | Lamar Salter Campsu
  • Oakdale Campus
  • Winnfield | Huey P Long Campus