English Composition

Tags: composition, documentation, english, papers, research, style, writing, writing lab

Vocabulary and Usage | Write smarter

Can't think of the right word?   Smart writers use these tools.

Tablet PC Computer And Books Stock Photo

Image courtesy of antpkr / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Writing Handbooks

These handbooks help guide students through  the writing process, from brainstorming and writing paragraphs to citations and proofreading. 

3d Laptop On Top Of A Pile Of Books Stock Photo

Image courtesy of -Marcus- / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

  • The Bedford Handbook for Writers
    Hacker, Diana
    Bedford/St. Martin's. 1991.
    LSU-BR Call number: PE1408 .H277 1991
  • The Longman Writer's Companion
    Anson, Chris.
    Pearson Longman. 2008.
    LSU-BR Call number: PE1408 .A61848
  • The Scott, Foresman Handbook for Writers
    Hairston, Maxine.
    Scott, Foresman. 1988.
    LSU-BR Call number: PE1408 .H2968 1988
  • The St. Martin's Handbook
    Lunsford, Andrea.
    St. Martin's Press. 1989.
    LSU-BR Call number: PE1112 .L86 1989
  • Writing and Reading Across the Curriculum
    Behrens, Laurence.
    Pearson, Longman. 2008.
    LSU-BR Call number: PE1417 .B396 2008
  • The Academic Writer's Handbook
    Rosen, Leonard J.
    Pearson, Longman. 2006.
    LSU-BR Call number: PE1408 .R6768 2006

Oxford English Dictionary Tutorial

Learn how to use the Oxford Dictionary Online:

Reference Books

What is a Reference Book?

Reference books are available to use as much as you want in the library, but you can't take them home. They are usually books you just need to "refer" to for certain information, but don't read cover-to-cover. Look at the list to the right for the newest Welding Reference books!

Reference books are also called "non-circulating books".  This means they cannot be checked out.

Commonly Used Style Guides

  • The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism
    Collin, Neville.
  • MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed.
    Gibaldi, Joseph. 2009.
    LSU-BR Call number: LB2369 .G53 2009
  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed.
    American Psychological Association. 2010.
    LSU-BR Call number: BF76.7 .P83 2010