Skip to main content

Americans With Disabilities: Accessibility Home

ADA establishes requirements for telecommunications, assistive technologies, that help people use information and resources more easily.

Types of DIsabilities

There are several types of DIsabilities:

  • Autism & Spectrum Disorders
  • Deafness & Hearing Disabled
  • Developmental DIsorders
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Multiple Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Service Animals
  • Vision Disabilities

Accessibility Standards

Accessibility Standards

These are pecific to Section 508, but the same set of requirements also relate to WCAG and other public accessibility standards.  Basically, for any accessibility standard you have two broad sets of requirements that must be satisfied:

  • Technical Requirements (§1194.21 & §1194.22)  |   Did we write the site in a fashion that conforms to the coding requirements in the relevant standards? 
  • Functional Requirements (§1194.31)  |   Can people with disabilities complete the core tasks of the site?  

Validation is performed against a set of best practices and unit tests that must be executed to validate compliance. Testing the twelve paragraphs of §1194.21 and the sixteen paragraphs of §1194.22 requires validating against one hundred and twenty best practices.  This is no small job.


Assistive Technology: The Law

Section 508 and WCAG 2.0

Section 508, last updated in 1998, applies to agencies and requires that they make electronic technology accessible to people with disabilities.  There's six technical standards to Section 508 compliance. Additionally, Section 508 includes performance criteria and information, documentation and support.

  • 508.21 | software applications and operating systems
  • 508.22 | web based intranet and internet applications
  • 508.23 | telecommunications products
  • 508.24 | video and multimedia products
  • 508.25 | self-contained, closed products
  • 508.26 | desktop and portable computers

WCAG 2.0

he Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 is a more modern, international standard that defines how to make content on the web accessible with disabilities.  Updated in 2008, WCAG 2.0 has set three levels of compliance:

  • A | lowest
  • AA | recommended
  • AAA | highest


 w3.Org provides standards for "Evaluating Websites for Accessibility"  and outlines different approaches for evaluating websites for accessibility. It provides general procedures, from evaluation during website development to ongoing monitoring of existing sites. The approaches in these pages are intended to supplement other content management and quality assurance procedures. You can click here to access the "Evaluating Websites for Accessibility" resource suite documents. If you want design websites, or if you are a user of the world wide web, you will find information about creating highly usable resources here.



Changing the World for Persons with Disabilities

Disability Awareness

Source: Cambridge University Lecture

Disability and Assistive Technology

Assistive Technology or Adaptive Technology

Works to increase education success, job success, and advancement of people with disabilities through the adoption and promotion of accessible technology by removing  barriers and creating the Least Restrictive Environment (LRE) possibl

Assistive Technologies for Learning

Assistive Technologies (AT's) can be provided for a nominal cost.  In fact, many resources are built into to the Windows and Apple operating systems. 

Read more under the tab "Assistive Technologies Overview".  Many of these are available for little or no cost,  Other technologies require considerable investment.  If you have a disability, CLTCC will evaluate your disability and make reasonable accomodation to help you be successful in your program.

Like Us On Facebook

Watch Our Videos on YouTube

Follow Us On Twitter

Follow Us On Instagram