Open Educational Resources (OER)

Arts and Humanities:

• OER Arts and Humanities curated collections

• Museum Visual Resource collections:
  • The Metropolitan Museum of Art
    • Open Access at The Met
  • The Library of Congress (Washington, D.C.)
  • The Harvard Art Museums
  • Smithsonian National Museum of African Art
  • The Art Institute of Chicago Open Access Images
  • The Cleveland Art Museum 30,000 works from the collection
  • J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles More than 100,000 images from the museum and the Getty Research Center archives
  • The National Gallery of Art (Washington, D.C.)

Image and Multimedia Galleries:

• Wikimedia Commons is a collection of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. 
  • How to search for the Creative Commons-licensed image in Wikimedia
    • Search tip: To check the license information on any image, scroll down the page to the Licensing section.
• Google Images: but not all images can be reused freely! But there are ways to narrow down to openly-licensed images through a Google search: 
  • Use keywords to search for related images
  • Click on the "Tools" button on the right-hand side, above the image results
  • Then, click on the drop-down menu for "Usage rights," as seen in the screenshot below
  •  There you will see an option to narrow down to Creative Commons licensed images.
• Flickr hosts millions of Creative Commons-licensed images. Notably, Flickr provides a separate Creative Commons-licensed videos collection.
  • Search tip: After searching with a keyword, click the "Any license" filter to narrow down to images with different kinds of open licenses.
• The following image/media OER image sites/repositories are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) public domain license:
  • Pixabay
  • Unsplash
  • Pxhere
  • Stocksnap
  • Morguefile

Nursing and Allied Health:

• OER Nursing and Allied Health curated collections
• Aging Under the Microscope: A Biological Quest - This is a free, online book offered by the National Institute on Aging.
• The Biology of Aging: Age-Related Diseases and Interventions - OER Course on Gerontology available through MIT OpenCourseWare.
• The Evolution of Aging 3rd Edition - Free fixed-format e-textbook (PDF).

Sciences and Applied Sciences:

• OER Life Sciences
• OER Applied Sciences