Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Orientation

This guide provides information about how to access the CLTCC Library/LRC resources.

About Us

About Us

The CLTCC Library and LRCs offer a wide range of resources for students, faculty, and staff. The CLTCC Library and LRCs are committed to offering excellent services while adhering to Central Louisiana Technical Community College's overall mission.

With computers for student use, high-speed internet access, wireless network, digital scanning, and free printing for assignments, the CLTCC Library and LRCs serve as study, printing, and research hubs for students. In addition to individual PCs, the CLTCC Library and LRCs feature an extensive online collection of e-books and e-journals. The CLTCC Library and LRCs are also part of the LOUIS consortium, giving CLTCC students, faculty, and staff access to a wide variety of electronic resources.

For Library hours: https://cltcclibrary.cltcc.edu/home

Electronic Resources

24-hour online access to:

  • 98 databases
  • Over 71,000 full-text electronic journals
  • Over 45,000 e-books
  • Collection of digital images

Librarians are happy to assist with any questions you may have. For more information, contact the Librarian at 318.487.5443 ext. 1137 or library@cltcc.edu.

Library Mission

The Central Louisiana Technical Community College Library and Learning Resource Centers (CLTCC Library and LRCs) exist to support the mission, vision, strategic plan, and learning outcomes of Central Louisiana Technical Community College. Our staff, collection, resources, and services exist to support academic excellence, intellectual curiosity, social awareness, and workforce development. To that end, the library endeavors to educate students to recognize their information needs, and then, locate, evaluate, and use the information they've gathered both ethically and effectively.

Library Values

  • We recognize users as our primary focus.
  • We promote equity of access to information.
  • We respect user privacy.
  • We defend intellectual freedom.
  • We value diversity.
  • We support self-education, learning, research, and scholarship.

Library Goals and Objectives

Goal 1: Ensure that Library services reflect and enhance academic excellence at Central Louisiana Technical Community College.

Objective 1.1: Provide access to a broad range of high quality information resources.

Objective 1.2: Incentivize and support disciplinary curriculum that includes Information Literacy among course learning outcomes.

Objective 1.3: Provide user-friendly virtual spaces that are responsive to the changing needs of our students. 

 

Goal 2: Deploy Library services that enable Central Louisiana Technical Community College students to make connections within and beyond the College.

Objective 2.1: Configure Library digital collections to enable collaboration among Central Louisiana Technical Community College students, staff, and faculty.

Objective 2.2: Provide services that connect to the world beyond and promote global awareness.

Objective 2.3: Develop programs that enhance encourage intellectual curiosity.

 

Goal 3: Infuse Library services with ethical and responsible behavior that makes a positive impact.

Objective 3.1: Conduct regular assessments to ensure that users have a positive experience with Library services.

Objective 3.2: Ensure inclusiveness by improving Library services to remote and online students, first generation students, and at-risk students.

Objective 3.3: Collaborate with faculty and other partners to help reduce textbook costs.

Library Initiatives

The following Library initiatives are in the discussion stages. This list will evolve and continue to be updated.

  • Assessment
    • Information Literacy Instruction
      • Create online modules
      • Offer workshops
      • Provide sessions for faculty teaching classes across the curriculum
    • Space Utilization
    • Events and Experiences
      • Encourage exploration of social and cultural events
  • Collections
    • Revise and update reference collections
    • Improve e-book holdings, using patron-driven acquisitions
  • Facilities
    • Update and improve technology
  • Faculty and Curriculum
    • Encourage use of open access materials
  • Service
    • Improve services to online and remote learners
    • Increase face-to-face outreach
    • Faculty support
      • Improve support services
    • Instruction
      • Help faculty embed Information Literacy learning outcomes across the curriculum
      • Create online video tutorials
  • Staffing
    • Increase staffing
    • Encourage professional development
    • Promote diversity and inclusiveness

Library Rules & Policies

NOTE: All rules are subject to change and new rules may be added as needed.

Food and Drinks:

  • No food allowed in the library
  • Drinks must be in a travel mug or water bottle
  • Trash must be placed in trash cans

Noise:

  • Please be respectful and speak in a quiet voice
  • Only listen to music/watch videos (on any device) if you have headphones (keep volume at a level that only you can hear)
  • Library faculty reserve the right to ask patrons who are noisy or disruptive to contain or reduce the noise; patrons may be asked to leave the library if they violate request

Mobile Phones:

  • Cell phones are required to be set to vibrate/silent ring in the library

Other:

  • No tobacco use of any kind is permitted on CLTCC campuses

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

YouTube