Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welding

Welding - Technology

Search the Databases

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Instructions for accessing the databases

CLTCC students, faculty, and staff, to access the databases, click on the database you would like to use, then login using your LoLA username and password when prompted.

Alternate option: In your search engine window, open another tab and log into LoLA. Your browser should remain open. Closing your browser terminates any search in progress. If you click on the link, it will open in a new window.

Recommended Databases

What are Databases?

Related Print Magazines in the Library

What are periodicals?

There are two main types of periodical articles: journals (advanced, scholarly) and magazines (less technical). 

Periodicals are any type of publication that is published in a series, or periodically (hence the name). Things like newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters are all periodicals, and the articles inside them are periodical articles.

Periodical articles are often the best sources for research, especially if your topic requires:

  • recent information
  • information on a specific topic
  • information on local issues

Periodicals cover events more quickly and concisely than books.

Books are usually better at giving thoughtful, historical information. Magazines and newspapers provide current, focused information, and specialized magazines and journals provide in-depth coverage.

Periodical articles are usually on specific topics

Many topics do not have entire books written about them (or specific information you need is buried within a book on a larger topic).  However periodical articles are often about very specific topics. For example, our library only lists one book on the topic of "fire ants," but one of our electronic resources has over 90 periodical articles on this topic.

Periodicals are more likely to cover local and state topics.

It isn't likely that a national publisher is going to write about local topics, such as the pollution of the Red River, but there will be many articles in newspapers and magazines.

Finding Articles for Welding and Art Metals

CLTCC gets the great majority of its periodicals through online collections, such as those below.

Academic Search Complete - Useful for almost any topic. Over 5000 periodicals with the full-text of the articles are included. This will have a mix of journals and magazines.

Business Source Complete - Here you will find full-text articles on the business side of welding and art metals.

MasterFILE Premier - This e-resource contains full text for periodicals covering various subject areas as well as many professions/trade publications. You'll also find full text for nearly 500 reference books, and an Image Collection.

Science & Technology Collection - This e-resource contains full text for periodicals covering various subject areas as well as many professions/trade publications. You'll also find full text for nearly 500 reference books, and an Image Collection.

Our Favorite Welding Magazines

Print magazines at the CLTC Library to support welding, art metals, metalsmithing include:

Online Journals - Welding and Art Metals

Welding Serials Directory

Loading ...

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

YouTube