Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to Psychology

This LibGuide will provide you with basic research information for the Psychology course.

Find Library Resources

To access the library's resources, you will need your LoLA username and password.

If you need help, contact the Librarian at 318.487.5443 ext. 1137 or library@cltcc.edu.

 

To access the databases, click on the database you would like to use, then login using your LoLA username and password when prompted.

 

 

To search the databases (electronic journals/periodicals):

  1. If you know which database you'd like to use, select it from the dropdown menu above, then click "GO"
  2. If you do not know which database you'd like to use, click on "View More Results" beneath the dropdown menu, that will take you to the A to Z Database List and you can select from there (the databases have descriptions written underneath to help you choose the appropriate one)
  3. Once you have selected the appropriate database, you will land on a search page
  4. Enter your term(s) into the search bar(s)
  5. Click on "Search"
  6. You can limit your search using the left side of the screen
  7. Read the abstract under the article to determine if it meets your needs
  8. To access the article, click on the hyperlink underneath the article

Quick tips for finding articles:

  • Think about the topics your instructor has discussed in class
  • Use keywords and subject terms
  • Write down all the ideas that come to mind when you think about your topic
  • As you type in your search terms, pay attention to the suggested terms that are added during your search
  • Use the left side of the screen to limit your results by year, subject, and publication

Remember:

  • Linked Full Text - Will bring up the entire article so that you do not have to submit a request (select this box on the left side of the screen)
  • Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals - contain articles that were evaluated by professionals for accuracy, but you still want to verify the information for your own research purposes

If you need help, contact a librarian at 318.487.5443 ext. 1137/1931 or library@cltcc.edu.

To see the list of available electronic journals, please click here: eJournal Listings

This is a comprehensive list of electronic journals owned by Central Louisiana Technical Community College. The journals are divided by category.

To access these journals off campus, you will need your LoLA username and password.

If you need help, contact the Librarian at 318.487.5443 ext. 1137 or library@cltcc.edu.

 

WorldCat is a global catalog of library collections. You can search for books, music, video, articles and much more at a library near you.

To Find eBooks

To search the catalog for ebooks:

  1. Choose either a keyword, title, or author search
  2. Put your search term(s) in the search bar and click Search
  3. On the left hand side, scroll down, and check eBooks
  4. Read the information (abstract) below the title to see if the resource is relevant to your research
  5. To read the ebook, click on PDF Full Text

 Examples of Broad and Exact Subject Headings and Subheadings from the Library of Congress Subject Headings

Clinical psychology

  • Anxiety--Cross-cultural studies
  • Anxiety disorders--ethnology
  • Clinical health psychology
  • College students--family relationships
  • Depression, Mental--Sex factors
  • Depression--ethnology
  • Identification (Psychology)--Social aspects
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Personality
  • Psychology, Clinical--Methods

Cognitive psychology

  • Behavioral assessment
  • Cognitive learning
  • Decision making
  • Early memories
  • Intellect
  • Intelligence levels
  • Interference (Perception)
  • Learning
  • Planning--Data processing
  • Problem solving
  • Self acceptance
  • Self control
  • Violence--psychological aspects

Environmental psychology

Ethnopsychology

Memory

Psychiatry, Transcultural

Psychoanalysis--History

Psychobiology

  • Attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder

Psycholinguistics

Psychology, Industrial

  • Artificial intelligence
  • Leadership
  • Motivation
  • Success

Psychophysiology

Social psychology

  • Social status
  • Social systems

Women--Mental health

 

Helpful Tips:

  • When entering your search term(s) in the search bar, pay attention to the autofill words, they can help guide your research
  • Do not use full sentences

Sample eBooks

To Find Journal Articles

To search the catalog for journal articles:

  1. Choose either a keyword, title, or author search
  2. Put your search term(s) in the search bar
  3. Under the search bar, select Full Text and Peer Reviewed (Scholarly) Only
  4. Click Search
  5. Use the limiters on the left hand side of the screen to narrow your results
  6. To read the article, click on either PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text

 

 Examples of Broad and Exact Subject Headings and Subheadings from the Library of Congress Subject Headings

Clinical psychology

  • Anxiety--Cross-cultural studies
  • Anxiety disorders--ethnology
  • Clinical health psychology
  • College students--family relationships
  • Depression, Mental--Sex factors
  • Depression--ethnology
  • Identification (Psychology)--Social aspects
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Personality
  • Psychology, Clinical--Methods

Cognitive psychology

  • Behavioral assessment
  • Cognitive learning
  • Decision making
  • Early memories
  • Intellect
  • Intelligence levels
  • Interference (Perception)
  • Learning
  • Planning--Data processing
  • Problem solving
  • Self acceptance
  • Self control
  • Violence--psychological aspects

Environmental psychology

Ethnopsychology

Memory

Psychiatry, Transcultural

Psychoanalysis--History

Psychobiology

  • Attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder

Psycholinguistics

Psychology, Industrial

  • Artificial intelligence
  • Leadership
  • Motivation
  • Success

Psychophysiology

Social psychology

  • Social status
  • Social systems

Women--Mental health

 

Helpful Tips:

  • When entering your search term(s) in the search bar, pay attention to the autofill words, they can help guide your research
  • Do not use full sentences
  • If you know what database you'd like to use (or if your instructor has assigned a specific one), click on Databases next to Catalog under Find Library Resources and select the appropriate database from the dropdown menu, click Go

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

YouTube