Central Louisiana Technical Community College Library: Forest Technology: Basic Research

Librarian

Kelly Kingrey-Edwards

Email Me

Contact:

(318) 628-4342, xt. 5050

Find Library Resources

To access the library's resources, you will need your LoLA username and password.

If you need help, contact the Librarian at 318.487.5443 ext. 1137 or [email protected].

To search the databases (electronic journals/periodicals):

If you know which database you'd like to use, select it from the dropdown menu above, then click "GO"
If you do not know which database you'd like to use, click on "View More Results" beneath the dropdown menu, that will take you to the A to Z Database List and you can select from there (the databases have descriptions written underneath to help you choose the appropriate one)
Once you have selected the appropriate database, you will land on a search page
Enter your term(s) into the search bar(s)
Click on "Search"
You can limit your search using the left side of the screen
Read the abstract under the article to determine if it meets your needs
To access the article, click on the hyperlink underneath the article

Quick tips for finding articles:

Think about the topics your instructor has discussed in class
Use keywords and subject terms
Write down all the ideas that come to mind when you think about your topic
As you type in your search terms, pay attention to the suggested terms that are added during your search
Use the left side of the screen to limit your results by year, subject, and publication

Remember:

Linked Full Text - Will bring up the entire article so that you do not have to submit a request (select this box on the left side of the screen)
Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals - contain articles that were evaluated by professionals for accuracy, but you still want to verify the information for your own research purposes

If you need help, contact a librarian at 318.487.5443 ext. 1137/1931 or [email protected].

To access the library's resources, you will need your LoLA username and password.

If you need help, contact the Librarian at 318.487.5443 ext. 1137 or [email protected].

Suggested Databases

To Find eBooks

To search the catalog for ebooks:

Choose either a keyword, title, or author search
Put your search term(s) in the search bar and click Search
On the left hand side, scroll down, and check eBooks
Read the information (abstract) below the title to see if the resource is relevant to your research
To read the ebook, click on PDF Full Text

Search term suggestions:

Arboriculture
Forests and forestry
Logging
Timber
Tree crops
Trees

Helpful Tips:

When entering your search term(s) in the search bar, pay attention to the autofill words, they can help guide your research
Do not use full sentences

Sample eBooks

ISBN: 9780295746852
Alaska often looms large as a remote, wild place with endless resources and endlessly independent, resourceful people. Yet it has always been part of larger stories: the movement of Indigenous peoples from Asia into the Americas and their contact with and accommodation to Western culture; the spread of European political economy to the New World; the expansion of American capitalism and culture; and the impacts of climate change.In this updated classic, distinguished historian Stephen Haycox surveys the state's cultural, political, economic, and environmental past, examining its contemporary landscape and setting the region in a broader, global context. Tracing Alaska's transformation from the early postcontact period through the modern era, Haycox explores the ever-evolving relationship between Native Alaskans and the settlers and institutions that have dominated the area, highlighting Native agency, advocacy, and resilience. Throughout, he emphasizes the region's systemic dependence on both federal support and outside corporate investment in natural resources—furs, gold, copper, salmon, oil—and offers a less romantic, more complex history that acknowledges the broader national and international contexts of Alaska's past.
Keywords for Environmental Studies by Joni Adamson (Editor); William A. Gleason (Editor); David Pellow (Editor)
ISBN: 9780814762967
Publication Date: 2016-02-26
Introduces key terms, quantitative and qualitative research, debates, and histories for Environmental and Nature Studies Understandings of "nature" have expanded and changed, but the word has not lost importance at any level of discourse: it continues to hold a key place in conversations surrounding thought, ethics, and aesthetics. Nowhere is this more evident than in the interdisciplinary field of environmental studies. Keywords for Environmental Studies analyzes the central terms and debates currently structuring the most exciting research in and across environmental studies, including the environmental humanities, environmental social sciences, sustainability sciences, and the sciences of nature. Sixty essays from humanists, social scientists, and scientists, each written about a single term, reveal the broad range of quantitative and qualitative approaches critical to the state of the field today. From "ecotourism" to "ecoterrorism," from "genome" to "species," this accessible volume illustrates the ways in which scholars are collaborating across disciplinary boundaries to reach shared understandings of key issues--such as extreme weather events or increasing global environmental inequities--in order to facilitate the pursuit of broad collective goals and actions. This book underscores the crucial realization that every discipline has a stake in the central environmental questions of our time, and that interdisciplinary conversations not only enhance, but are requisite to environmental studies today. Visit keywords.nyupress.org for online essays, teaching resources, and more.
Federal Forest Restoration by Lorena McGuire
ISBN: 9781634839747
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Restoration of our national forests benefits the environment and creates jobs in rural communities. Increasing the pace of restoration of the Nation's forests is critically needed to address a variety of threats including fire, climate change, the bark beetle infestation, and others -- to the health of our forest ecosystems, watersheds, and forest-dependent communities. The Forest Service within the Department of Agriculture and the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), Bureau of Land Management (BLM), Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS), and National Park Service (NPS) within the Department of the Interior have increasingly promoted landscape-scale forest restoration as a way to improve forest health. Through landscape-scale projects, agencies can treat tens or hundreds of thousands of acres, in contrast to projects commonly of under 1,000 acres. Such projects must comply with NEPA by assessing the effects of major federal actions that significantly affect the environment. This book examines the number of such projects the agencies have conducted and how they are scoped; the actions taken by agencies to track the projects' progress; successes and challenges experienced by agencies; and steps taken by agencies to help increase NEPA efficiency for such projects.
Life after Carbon by Peter Plastrik; John Cleveland
ISBN: 9781610918497
Publication Date: 2018-12-04
The future of our cities is not what it used to be. The modern-city model that took hold globally in the twentieth century has outlived its usefulness. It cannot solve the problems it helped to create--especially global warming. Fortunately, a new model for urban development is emerging in cities to aggressively tackle the realities of climate change. It transforms the way cities design and use physical space, generate economic wealth, consume and dispose of resources, exploit and sustain the natural ecosystems, and prepare for the future. In Life After Carbon, urban sustainability consultants Pete Plastrik and John Cleveland assemble this global pattern of urban reinvention from the stories of 25 "innovation lab" cities across the globe--from Copenhagen to Melbourne. A city innovation lab is the entire city--the complex, messy, real urban world where innovations must work. It is a city in which government, business, and community leaders take to heart the challenge of climate change and converge on the radical changes that are necessary. They free downtowns from cars, turn buildings into renewable-energy power plants, re-nature entire neighborhoods, incubate growing numbers of clean-energy and smart-tech companies, convert waste to energy, and much more. Plastrik and Cleveland show that four transformational ideas are driving urban climate innovation around the world, in practice, not just in theory: carbon-free advantage, efficient abundance, nature's benefits, and adaptive futures. And these ideas are thriving in markets, professions, consumer trends, community movements, and "higher" levels of government that enable cities. Life After Carbon presents the new ideas that are replacing the pillars of the modern-city model, converting climate disaster into urban opportunity, and shaping the next transformation of cities worldwide. It will inspire anyone who cares about the future of our cities, and help them to map a sustainable path forward.
Cut and Run by Rob Glastra (Editor)
ISBN: 9781552500538
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
Illegal logging and trade in timber is a major cause of forest degradation in the world today. Not only does it threaten biodiversity-rich old growth forests, it also endangers the livelihoods of the traditional communities that are dependent upon them. But controlling this global problem is not a simple matter of enacting new laws and enforcing new regulations OCo the rules already exist. If countries are to manage their forest sustainably they must implement existing laws effectively, and they must do so now Cut and Run offers readers valuable insight on how this might be done."

To Find Journal Articles

To search the catalog for journal articles:

Choose either a keyword, title, or author search
Put your search term(s) in the search bar
Under the search bar, select Full Text and Peer Reviewed (Scholarly) Only
Click Search
Use the limiters on the left hand side of the screen to narrow your results
To read the article, click on either PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text

Search term suggestions:

Arboriculture
Forests and forestry
Logging
Timber
Tree crops
Trees

Helpful Tips:

When entering your search term(s) in the search bar, pay attention to the autofill words, they can help guide your research
Do not use full sentences
If you know what database you'd like to use (or if your instructor has assigned a specific one), click on Databases next to Catalog under Find Library Resources and select the appropriate database from the dropdown menu, click Go

Sample Journal Articles:

Beadie, Nancy. “Resource Extraction and Education Funding: Nature and Political Economies of State Formation in the United States.” Paedagogica Historica: International Journal of the History of Education, vol. 56, no. 1–2, Jan. 2020, pp. 150–170. EBSCOhost, search-ebscohost-com.cltcc.idm.oclc.org/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1254136&site=eds-live.

Carter, David R., et al. “Effects of Multiaged Silvicultural Systems on Reserve Tree Growth 19 Years after Establishment across Multiple Species in the Acadian Forest in Maine, USA.” Canadian Journal of Forest Research, vol. 47, no. 10, Oct. 2017, pp. 1314–1324. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1139/cjfr-2017-0120.

Stahls Jr., Paul F. “Springtime in Kisatchie.” Louisiana Life, vol. 35, no. 4, Mar. 2015, pp. 32–35. EBSCOhost, search-ebscohost-com.cltcc.idm.oclc.org/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f6h&AN=102885979&site=eds-live.