Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services for Students

This LibGuide provides information about library services for students.

Library Services for Students

All CLTCC students, faculty, and staff have access to the library’s resources, whether they are on- or off-campus. Desktop computers and self-service photocopiers/printers are provided for student, faculty, and staff use at each campus location.

The CLTCC Library provides all its resources electronically through the CLTCC Library website. There are over 100,000 electronic periodical titles, electronic books (ebooks), images, and videos available for student, faculty, and staff use. These titles can be found through the CLTCC Library homepage by using the Database tab and selecting an option from the drop-down menu of available databases. Library patrons can also do a keyword search for electronic resources by searching in the Search the Databases box located on the library homepage; with this option, they can further narrow the search to include only full-text and/or peer-reviewed articles.

Students, faculty, and staff have access to these extensive resources both on- and off-campus. For off-campus authentication purposes, the library patron is required to enter their Log on Louisiana (LoLA) username and password. Access is authenticated through the Louisiana Technical Community College System (LCTCS) Banner system and a cloud-based EZProxy software program through OCLC (Online Computer Library Center). Remote access is particularly beneficial to our library users, as access to CLTCC library’s online resources is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year from anywhere Internet access is available. 

Reference Assistance

Librarians are available to assist you with your research questions. 

The librarians are domiciled at the Alexandria Main Campus, with rotating coverage provided to Ferriday Campus, Huey P. Long Campus, Lamar Salter Campus, Natchitoches Campus, Rod Brady Campus, and Sabine Valley Campus. To provide more individualized service to the campuses, the librarians are assigned as liaisons to four campuses each. The librarians work with the campus deans to determine the best days and times to provide overall library coverage in the Computer Labs/Learning Resources Centers. Librarians also work with faculty and staff to determine individual class needs. Librarians can be contacted in person, via email (dvaughntucker@cltcc.edu, carlclose@cltcc.edu, or library@cltcc.edu), or by phone (318.487.5443 ext. 1137/1931) during normal business hours. Librarians also maintain virtual office hours through WebEx (https://cltcc.webex.com/meet/vaughntucker and https://cltcc.webex.com/meet/carlclose), which allows on-demand or scheduled access to a librarian during normal business hours. After hours, library users have access to online tutorials with instructions for accessing the library’s resources and other general library research assistance.  Whether meeting face-to-face or virtually, all library users receive the same friendly and professional assistance. 

Your Campus Liaison Librarians:

Liaison Librarian

Mrs. Dani Vaughn-Tucker, M.A., MLIS

Director of Library Services

Mr. Carl R. Close, MLIS

Cataloger/Technical Services Librarian

Email

 

dvaughntucker@CLTCC.edu carlclose@CLTCC.edu

Phone Number

 

318.487.5443 ext.1137 318.487.5443 ext.1934

Virtual Office

 

https://cltcc.webex.com/meet/dvaughntucker https://cltcc.webex.com/meet/carlclose
Campuses
  • Alexandria
  • Ferriday
  • Lamar Salter Campus
  • Ward H. Nash Avoyelles
  • Huey P. Long
  • Natchitoches
  • Rod Brady
  • Sabine Valley

 

You may also use the library's Orientation LibGuide for information about how to access and use the library's resources: 

Welcome (Start Here) - Library Orientation - Central Louisiana Technical Community College Library at Central Louisiana Technical College (cltcc.edu)

Computers

There are computers with Internet access for student use at the Main Library at the Alexandria Main Campus as well as in computer labs across all CLTCC locations.

All computers have the Microsoft Office Suite installed on them, which includes the following programs:

  • Word
  • Excel
  • Access
  • Publisher
  • PowerPoint

All computers are networked to a printer. Copiers are also available. The copy machines can be used as a scanner to digitize documents free of charge. You will need to bring your own flash drive to save the scanned image(s). 

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

YouTube