Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services for Students

This LibGuide provides information about library services for students.

How to Search America's Historical Newspapers

 

As the first draft of history, American newspapers have preserved essential records and detailed accounts of the people, issues, and events that shaped the nation for hundreds of years. America’s Historical Newspapers includes thousands of titles from all 50 states chronicling the evolution of American culture and society through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and much more. The core of America’s Historical Newspapers is Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922—the most extensive resource of its kind for exploring the American past. The essential complement to Early American Newspapers is American Ethnic Newspapers, which includes African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971. Also available are Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876, and five subject-specific newspaper collections: American Business: Agricultural Newspapers; American Business: Mercantile Newspapers; American Gazettes: Newspapers of Record; American Politics: Campaign Newspapers; and American Religion: Denominational Newspapers. Finally, America’s Historical Newspapers includes the Washington Evening Star (1852-1981)—the newspaper of record for the nation’s capital.

For step-by-step instructions, visit the AHN website.

How to Search the EBSCOhost Databases

 

This tutorial provides an overview of the features of the EBSCOhost interface, including:

  • Searching EBSCOhost
  • Using the Result List
  • Previewing Articles
  • Using Search History

How to Search the Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

The Gale Virtual Reference Library gives you 24/7 access to thousands of full-text eBook titles. In this tutorial video, you will learn the basics of using the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

How to Search the Louisiana Digital Library (LDL)

 

The Louisiana Digital Library provides you with free online access to historical materials in archives, museums, libraries, and other cultural heritage repositories across the state. In this video, you will learn several ways to search these materials. For example, you'll learn to refine search results using faceted search, to narrow your search using boolean operators, and to use the advanced search option to search specific fields and institutions.

How to Search JSTOR

Learn how to use the search results page to explore content broadly and narrow parameters during a search session.

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

YouTube