Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CLTCC Diversity Featured Ebooks

Explore virtual collections of ebooks by monthly themes curated by CLTCC librarians.

About the Black History Month eBook Display

About the Black History Month eBook Display

The CLTCC Library in conjunction with the CLTCC Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Taskforce invites you to celebrate Black History Month through a curated virtual display of ebooks written by Black writers and/or about the Black experience.

About Black History Month

Established in 1926 by noted African American historian Carter G. Woodson, Black History Month evolved to become a month-long event in 1976. February was selected because Frederick Douglass and Abraham Lincoln have birthdays during the month. The annual event provides an opportunity to learn about the history, traditions, and contributions of Black Americans.

The theme for 2022 is Black Health and Wellness, and explores the multiple legacies of knowledge, scholarship, and practice around health and wellness, throughout the world of Black America. Read more about this year’s theme at Asalh: Black History Themes.

About the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion eBook Collection

According to LOUIS Libraries, "This perpetual access custom collection of eBooks was created by the Electronic Resources Working Group in conjunction with EBSCO for LOUIS member institutions. This collection enhances the representation of diverse cultures and viewpoints in library collections including Black Americans, LGBTQIA+, religious minorities, Indigenous peoples, Asian Americans, women, and more."

Below is a selection of materials that we've curated to help you learn more about the Black experience in America. 

To access the eBooks:

  1. On the "Catalog" tab type your search term(s) in the search bar
  2. Click "Search" or hit "Enter"
  3. When prompted, enter your LoLA username and password
  4. On the left hand side, scroll down, and select "eBooks"
  5. To read an ebook, click on either PDF Full Text or EPUB Full Text

If you cannot remember your LoLA username and password, you can reset it by following the steps on the LoLA homepage.

Recommended eBooks

Library Databases

Additional Resources

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

YouTube