Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Monthly Observations

Explore virtual collections of ebooks by monthly themes curated by CLTCC librarians.

About the Hispanic Heritage Month eBook Display

About the Hispanic Heritage Month eBook Display

The CLTCC Library in conjunction with the CLTCC Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Taskforce invites you to celebrate Hispanic History Month through a curated virtual display of ebooks written by Hispanic writers and/or about the Hispanic experience.

About Hispanic Heritage History Month

Hispanic Heritage Month celebrates the histories, cultures and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America.

The Hispanic Heritage observance began in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson, and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15 and ending on October 15. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988.

The September 15th date is significant because it is the anniversary of independence for the Latin American countries Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. In addition, Mexico and Chile celebrate their independence days on September 16 and September 18, respectively.

Information from the Department of Agriculture

About the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion eBook Collection

According to LOUIS Libraries, "This perpetual access custom collection of eBooks was created by the Electronic Resources Working Group in conjunction with EBSCO for LOUIS member institutions. This collection enhances the representation of diverse cultures and viewpoints in library collections including Black Americans, LGBTQIA+, religious minorities, Indigenous peoples, Asian Americans, women, and more."

Below is a selection of materials that we've curated to help you learn more about the Black experience in America. 

To access the eBooks:

  1. On the "Catalog" tab type your search term(s) in the search bar
  2. Click "Search" or hit "Enter"
  3. When prompted, enter your LoLA username and password
  4. On the left hand side, scroll down, and select "eBooks"
  5. To read an ebook, click on either PDF Full Text or EPUB Full Text

If you cannot remember your LoLA username and password, you can reset it by following the steps on the LoLA homepage.

Recommended eBooks

Library Databases

Additional Resources

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

YouTube